Half-Price Theatre Tickets
Shows

The Playboy of the Western World

Buy Tickets
$15 - $17 $30 - $34
City Lit Theater

The Playboy of the Western World

Show Information

Controversial when first produced (Sinn Fein types felt it depicted the Irish as glamorizing violence so they, um, rioted at the premiere), it stands today as one of the world’s classic comedies. A man walks into a bar. He announces he has killed his father with a shovel. “There’s a daring fellow” is the response, and the folks in the bar offer him drinks and a place to stay, while women vie for his attention. “I’m thinking this night,” he muses, “wasn’t I a foolish fellow not to kill my father in the years gone by?” The next day his father shows up with a bandaged head and a blazing temper.

City Lit Theater Company’s current COVID-19 policies are as follows. City Lit Theater Company requires all audience members to be fully vaccinated in order to attend. Masks are required at all times while in the building. Refunds will not be issued if admittance is denied for lack of proof of vaccination. This is subject to change. Please check with the box office before the performance for updates.

City Lit Theater - 1020 W. Bryn Mawr Ave., Chicago, IL 60660

Take Note

  • City Lit Theater Company's current COVID-19 policies are as follows. City Lit Theater Company requires all audience members to be fully vaccinated in order to attend. Masks are required at all times while in the building. Refunds will not be issued if admittance is denied for lack of proof of vaccination. This is subject to change. Please check with the box office before the performance for updates.

Buy Tickets

When would you like to attend this show?

Friday, Jul 1
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Saturday, Jul 2
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Sunday, Jul 3
  1. 3:00pm
    $15

Friday, Jul 8
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Saturday, Jul 9
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Friday, Jul 15
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Saturday, Jul 16
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Sunday, Jul 17
  1. 3:00pm
    $17

Friday, Jul 22
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Saturday, Jul 23
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Sunday, Jul 24
  1. 3:00pm
    $17

Friday, Jul 29
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Saturday, Jul 30
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Sunday, Jul 31
  1. 3:00pm
    $17

Monday, Aug 1
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Friday, Aug 5
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Saturday, Aug 6
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Sunday, Aug 7
  1. 3:00pm
    $17

Monday, Aug 8
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Friday, Aug 12
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Saturday, Aug 13
  1. 7:30pm
    $17

Sunday, Aug 14
  1. 3:00pm
    $17