See What's Available for Half-Price!
Shows

Until the Flood

Until the Flood

Show Information

On August 9, 2014 Darren Wilson, a white police officer shot and killed Michael Brown, an African American teenager in Ferguson, Missouri. The shooting ignited weeks of social unrest, propelled the activist movement known as Black Lives Matter and prompted a controversial investigation by the U.S. Department of Justice.

Traveling to the region a few months after the shooting, Orlandersmith conducted interviews with dozens of people who were grievously shaken by the shooting and its turbulent aftermath. From these intimate conversations, she has created eight unforgettable characters who embody a community struggling to come to terms with the personal damage caused by these complex events. Experienced in performance, these voices offer haunting reminders of America’s continuing struggle with racism and justice.

Awarded a Critic’s Pick by The New York Times and acclaimed by critics and audiences across the country, Until The Flood powerfully explores the roiling currents of American history, race and politics that exploded in the streets of Ferguson, Missouri and sent shock waves across the nation. Until The Flood is an unmissable drama that, the Chicago Tribune raved, “achieves a great beauty by bringing us together rather than driving us apart.”

Goodman Theatre is proud to partner with ALL ARTS, the free broadcast and digital platform dedicated to the arts, as well as the following theaters in presenting this stream free to our audiences: Rattlestick Plawyrights Theater in New York, Repertory Theatre of St. Louis, Portland Center Stage, Milwaukee Repertory Theater, Center Theatre Group in Los Angeles, A Contemporary Theatre in Seattle, and the Denver Center for the Performing Arts.

Until the Flood was originally commissioned and produced by Seattle Repertory Theatre and subsequently produced in the United States and the U.K. with the same performer, director and creative team.

Goodman Theatre

Take Note

  • This production is free of charge. The links below will take you directly to the theatre’s website.

Buy Tickets

When would you like to attend this show?

Enter offer code HOTTIX before selecting your seats.

Thursday, Dec 3
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Friday, Dec 4
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Saturday, Dec 5
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Sunday, Dec 6
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Monday, Dec 7
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Tuesday, Dec 8
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Wednesday, Dec 9
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Thursday, Dec 10
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Friday, Dec 11
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Saturday, Dec 12
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Sunday, Dec 13
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Monday, Dec 14
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Tuesday, Dec 15
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Wednesday, Dec 16
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Thursday, Dec 17
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Friday, Dec 18
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Saturday, Dec 19
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Sunday, Dec 20
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Monday, Dec 21
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Tuesday, Dec 22
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Wednesday, Dec 23
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Thursday, Dec 24
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Friday, Dec 25
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Saturday, Dec 26
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Sunday, Dec 27
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Monday, Dec 28
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Tuesday, Dec 29
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Wednesday, Dec 30
  1. 10:59pm
    $0

Thursday, Dec 31
  1. 11:59pm
    $0