Half-Price Theatre Tickets
Shows

Middle Passage

Buy Tickets
$22.50 $45
Lifeline Theatre

Middle Passage

Show Information

Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed Illinois slave eking out a living in 1830 New Orleans, stows away aboard The Republic, an outbound rigger, to evade debtors enforcing marriage. But his clever escape backfires as the clipper turns out to be a slave ship bound for Africa. Calhoun must choose between a fanatical captain, a mutinous crew, and the Africans seeking escape. Building on a tradition of African American storytelling, this tale challenges perceptions of American identity using a Black aesthetic. We are at a critical historical moment in which issues such as racism, classism, poverty, and the meaning of freedom impact us all. Lifeline Artistic Director Ilesa Duncan and David Barr III revisit Johnson’s epic tale, originally mounted at Pegasus Theatre in 2016 under the title Rutherford’s Travels, to share a tale of personal growth within a dark phase of American history. Of Middle Passage, the Chicago Tribune said, “Long after we’d stopped believing in the great American novel, along comes a spellbinding adventure story that may be just that.”

Buy Tickets

When would you like to attend this show?

Thursday, Feb 27
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Friday, Feb 28
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Saturday, Feb 29
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50
  2. 8:00pm
    $22.50

Sunday, Mar 1
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50

Thursday, Mar 5
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Friday, Mar 6
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Saturday, Mar 7
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50
  2. 8:00pm
    $22.50

Sunday, Mar 8
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50

Thursday, Mar 12
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Friday, Mar 13
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Saturday, Mar 14
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50
  2. 8:00pm
    $22.50

Sunday, Mar 15
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50

Thursday, Mar 19
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Friday, Mar 20
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Saturday, Mar 21
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50
  2. 8:00pm
    $22.50

Sunday, Mar 22
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50

Thursday, Mar 26
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Friday, Mar 27
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Saturday, Mar 28
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50
  2. 8:00pm
    $22.50

Sunday, Mar 29
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50

Thursday, Apr 2
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Friday, Apr 3
  1. 7:30pm
    $22.50

Saturday, Apr 4
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50
  2. 8:00pm
    $22.50

Sunday, Apr 5
  1. 4:00pm
    $22.50