Digital Theatre Content
Shows

The Barber of Seville: “Ecco ridente in cielo”

The Barber of Seville: “Ecco ridente in cielo”

Show Information

“Ecco ridente in cielo” is Count Almaviva’s cavatina from Gioachino Rossini’s opera The Barber of Seville.

In The Barber of Seville, irrepressible Rosina refuses to marry her pompous old guardian. Meanwhile, a bold young count is eager to win Rosina for himself. And who’s going to make sure those two finish the opera united? The cleverest character in all of Seville: the barber Figaro, whose services are sought after by everyone for everything (the guy has a lot more talents than just cutting hair). Rossini’s music—the aural equivalent of champagne—is the last word in humor, inspiring smiles and laughter on every page of the score, which is what makes Barber the most popular of all operatic comedies.

Here, at dawn, Count Almaviva (Lawrence Brownlee), in love with Rosina, offers a serenade under her window.

Lyric Opera of Chicago

Buy Tickets

When would you like to attend this show?

Enter offer code HOTTIX before selecting your seats.

Wednesday, Aug 5
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Thursday, Aug 6
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Friday, Aug 7
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Saturday, Aug 8
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Sunday, Aug 9
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Monday, Aug 10
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Tuesday, Aug 11
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Wednesday, Aug 12
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Thursday, Aug 13
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Friday, Aug 14
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Saturday, Aug 15
  1. 11:59pm
    $0