Find Theatre Performances & Classes
Shows

2020 Fall Youth Classes for 3rd-6th Graders

Youth Class Buy Tickets
$175 - $300 $350 - $600
Piven Theatre Workshop

2020 Fall Youth Classes for 3rd-6th Graders

Show Information

Intro to Piven for 3rd-5th Graders (VIRTUAL)
Saturdays, 11:00am to 12:00pm
2 six-week sessions. Sign up for the full 12 weeks and save!
9/12/20 – 10/24/20 (no class 9/19 for Rosh Hashanah)
10/31/20 – 12/12/20

$175 per session, $300 for the full twelve weeks
5KFall20 (session I)
6KFall20 (session II)

Come play with us! Explore classic Piven games, improv exercises, and storytelling techniques. In this class, students will create original characters, worlds, and plots, and dramatize fairytales, folktales, and children’s literature. Collaborating as an ensemble, students will gain skills as actors, storytellers, creative writers, and readers. A past member of Piven’s youth performing ensembles, a graduate of Northwestern University’s Theatre for Young Audiences program, and a PhD student at the University of Chicago, lead teacher Fiona Maxwell uses her educational background, as well as her research into the origins of story-based drama, to provide a unique learning experience. Join us as we bring stories to life!

Intro to Piven for 3rd-5th Graders (ONSITE)*
Saturdays, 11:00am to 12:00pm
2 six-week sessions. Sign up for the full 12 weeks and save!

9/12/20 – 10/24/20 (no class 9/19 for Rosh Hashanah)
10/31/20 – 12/12/20
$175 per session, $300 for the full twelve weeks
7KFall20 (Session I), 8KFall20 (Session II)

*On-site class availability pending, according to the latest CDC and local government COVID-19 recommendations. On-site class may become virtual.

Perfect for the young student who wants to begin exploring theatre arts in a fun, supportive environment! Students stretch their creative muscles through theatre games while they begin to discover the art of storytelling and improvisation. This class provides the perfect introduction to the Piven training technique!

Dungeons and Dragons with Bec McNamara (VIRTUAL)
Mondays 6:30 to 8:30pm
3KFall20
$250

Enter the universe of D&D with a unique Piven twist. Use improvisation training and character building to make your D&D world come to life, under the instruction of a Master Teacher who moonlights as a Game Master. All experience levels welcome! Let us know if you have any questions about this new offering.

Toy Theatre with Mikalina (VIRTUAL)
Tuesdays 4:30-5:30
4KFall20
$175

Be a director, actor, lighting, sound and set designer! Explore the magic and tradition of object performance. In this class each student will build a small cardboard tabletop proscenium puppet stage and develop a short toy theater performance. Options to make your own puppets, or use existing toys or objects. The small Zoom screen is the perfect lens for these puppet creations to come to life in this collaborative and supportive new offering. The class cumulates with a performance of each student’s original work. Basic art supplies like tape or glue and recyclables will be needed.

Piven Theatre Workshop

Take Note

  • Hot Tix is not selling half-price tickets at this time. The links below will take you directly to the theatre’s website.

Buy Tickets

When would you like to attend this show?

Enter offer code HOTTIX before selecting your seats.

Monday, Sep 21
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Sep 22
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Sep 26
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300

Monday, Sep 28
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Sep 29
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Oct 3
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300

Monday, Oct 5
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Oct 6
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Oct 10
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300

Monday, Oct 12
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Oct 13
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Oct 17
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300

Monday, Oct 19
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Oct 20
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Oct 24
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300

Monday, Oct 26
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Oct 27
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Oct 31
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300

Monday, Nov 2
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Nov 3
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Nov 7
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300

Monday, Nov 9
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Nov 10
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Nov 14
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300

Monday, Nov 16
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Nov 17
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Nov 21
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300

Monday, Nov 30
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Dec 1
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Dec 5
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300

Monday, Dec 7
  1. 6:30pm
    $250

Tuesday, Dec 8
  1. 4:30pm
    $175

Saturday, Dec 12
  1. 11:00am
    $175 - $300