Half-Price Theatre Tickets
Shows

Mad Beat Hip & Gone

Buy Tickets
$15 $30
Promethean Theatre at The Edge Off-Broadway

Mad Beat Hip & Gone

Show Information

This Midwest premiere of a new Steven Dietz play considers 1950s America, when magnificent poets roamed open highways, accompanied by jukebox jazz. The nation’s youth hit the road, high on full tanks of gas and brimming with unattainable dreams. Two magnificently average young men from Nebraska encounter Jack Kerouac and his friends in a bar. They respond by heading west themselves, trailing the Beat poets all the way to the golden land of California. Youthful exuberance is balanced by the untethered floundering of the older generation and their bittersweet knowledge that all dreams are fleeting. MAD BEAT HIP & GONE marries the realism and sharp dialogue for which Dietz is famous, with the achingly brilliant poetry of the Beat Generation. It’s a road trip you won’t want to miss.
Promethean Theatre at The Edge Off-Broadway - 1133 W Catalpa Ave, Chicago, IL 60640

Buy Tickets

When would you like to attend this show?

Saturday, Apr 27
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Sunday, Apr 28
  1. 2:00pm
    $15

Thursday, May 2
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Friday, May 3
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Sunday, May 5
  1. 2:00pm
    $15

Thursday, May 9
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Friday, May 10
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Saturday, May 11
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Sunday, May 12
  1. 2:00pm
    $15

Monday, May 13
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Thursday, May 16
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Friday, May 17
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Saturday, May 18
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Sunday, May 19
  1. 2:00pm
    $15

Thursday, May 23
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Friday, May 24
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Saturday, May 25
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Sunday, May 26
  1. 2:00pm
    $15

Thursday, May 30
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Friday, May 31
  1. 7:30pm
    $15

Saturday, Jun 1
  1. 7:30pm
    $15